Academic Teams, Clubs & Honor Societies

Academic Bowl Team

Sponsors: Ms. Kizzy BessMr. Kent Lindsey 

The Academic Team meets on Wednesdays at 3:30 PM in Room 1603. Teams play in one to two tournaments each month. If you are interested in joining the Junior Varsity or Varsity Academic Team, please attend the next meeting or use the Remind App to sign up.


Air Force Junior ROTC

Sponsor: Lt. Col. Jonathan Reyes & SMSgt. Ebony Williams



Sponsor: Mr. Scott Wofford


Art Club

Sponsor: Mr. Ken Schwager


National Art Honor Society

Sponsor: Mr. Ken Schwager


Marching Band

Sponsor: Mr. David Fairchild


National Beta Club & Lakeside Beta Club 

Sponsor: Mr. Chuck Cass


Best Buddies



Book Club

Sponsor: Ms. Miriam Martin


Drama Club & Lakeside Drama Club & Lakeside Theatre Company

Sponsor: Ms. Greta Hayes



Sponsor: Ms. Kizzzy Bess


FCA Club

Sponsor: Coach Newmyer



Sponsor: Ms. Naola Pitts, Ms. Marcia Jackson, Ms. Idallah Abdul-Muhaymin


Flag Corp



French Club

Sponsor: Mr. Henri DeVastey & Ms. Ashley Blackwood


Societe Honoraire De Francais (French Honor Society)

Teacher Sponsor: Mr. Henri DeVastey & Ms. Ashley Blackwood


Gay-Straight Alliance (GSA)

Sponsor: Mr. Scott Wofford


German Club



German Honor Society



Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl 

Sponsor: Mrs. Florence Johnson

The Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl team will meet regularly on Tuesday mornings before school in Mrs. Johnson's room (1104) at 7:30. The books are now available for check-out in the media center; team members should identify themselves at the desk to access the books. 



Sponsor: Mr. Luis Lopez


Interact Club

Sponsor: Mr. Adam Crawford


Invisible Children's Club



International Events Association

Sponsor: Ms. Ashley Blackwood


Jewish Student Union



Key Club

Sponsor: Dr. Syrena Rainey


Jazz Band

Sponsor: Mr. David Fairchild


Latin Club



Latin Dance Club

Sponsor: Mr. Luis Lopez


National Latin Honor Society



National Honor Society

Sponsor: Ms. Elizabeth Krieger


Legend Newspaper

Sponsor: Ms. Tracey Anderson


Math Team

Sponsor: Mr. Michael Young


Medical Club

Sponsor: Dr. Annette Parrott 

Medical Club is open to all students with interest in exploring careers in the Medicine and Health Care.  Speakers from the medical field including physicians, nurses, physician assistants and other Health Care professionals will speak about their careers. The club meets on the first Thursday of each month in Dr. Parrots Room.


Mock Trial

Sponsor: Mr. Henri DeVastey


Muslim Student Association (MSA)

Sponsor: Mr. Naoman Malik


National Honor Society

Teacher Sponsor: Ms. Krieger



Sponsor: Mr. Michael Giel


One Act & One Act Team 

Sponsor: Ms. Greta Hayes


Purple Diamonds Dance Team

Sponsor: Ms. Affia Avril





Science Olympiad



Skald Literary Magazine

Sponsor: Ms. Florence Johnson





Student Government Association (SGA)

Sponsor: Ms Linda Levin


SGA Officers  

SGA Presidents-Katie Keung & Jerod Spetseris

SGA Vice President-Iris Wickham

SGA Secretary-Bella Reynolds

SGA Student Outreach Coordinator-Asia Anderson


Sneaker Club

Sponsor: Mr. Tyler LaFleur


Spanish Honor Society



Technology Student Association

Sponsor: Mr. Keith Kidd & Mr. Ira Andrews


Thespian Troupe

Sponsor: Ms. Greta Hayes


Tri-M Music Honor Society

Sponsor: Mr. David Fairchild


Ultimate Frisbee



Water Polo



Valhalla Yearbook

Sponsor: Ms. Heather Hoyne


Be Informed

PTSA eNewsletter
Subscribe to the weekly LHS PTSA E-Blast newsletter
E-Blast Newsletter

Join the PTSA


Our Partners in Education

We are so thankful to our sponsors for their generosity!